Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-10-12 - 3:18 p.m.

The greatest source of inspiration for an author is to read the work of another writer. I try to read over a dozen book every year. This year I wanted to read two dozen book but will fall short of that goal. When tempting that type of goal and failing it is still a sweet victory for all of the great books I read in 2005.
One in particular has really inspired me. It was written a few centuries ago in the late 1200�s. The Inferno is the first of a three book serial by Dante Alighieri and they are about Dante the Pilgrim�s ethereal journey. His work was derived from all of the literature which inspired him. Some of the works were written before time reached zero and rolled back over.
For the most part they were mythological stories that were written in series form as opposed to a single book. Dante�s guide through Hell is Virgil. Virgil is the choice as mythical guide on the mystical journey since his series of poetic books called Aeneid and Georgics formed some of the background for Dante�s collections called The Inferno, Purgatory and Paradise.
Other poets whose works inspired Dante were Homer (who wrote The Iliad and The Odyssey), Ovid (who wrote the collection of poetic books called Metamorphoses), Giovanni Boccaccio (who wrote the collection of books called Decameron), Statius (who wrote the collection of poetic books called Thebiad) and Aristotle (who wrote two collections called Nicomachean Ethics and Physics).
I thought it would be a wonderful accomplishment to write a series of book that when tied together formed a mythical ideology. Although I enjoy writing poetry, I took the next step and wondered if a series of literary books would be possible.
I humbly present...

The Wings of Pegasus

Book I
Summertime
An Ohio Summer
A Georgian Summer

Book II
The Fall
29 Grams

Book III
Wonderland
The Stigma

Book IV
Springtime
A Typical Novel

Book V
Incantation
The War Journal

Book VI
Birth
Ghost Town
House of Flower
Freedom

Book VII
Youth
The Revolts

Book VIII
Animation
Cargo Hold
Revolution

Book IX
Re-Animation
CloneenolC

Book X
Re-Incantation
6001

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!