Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-04-06 - 2:11 p.m.

This will be a blinverted mess of an entry. It's happened before and it will happen again. Kinda like the way my dog will walk across the back yard taking a shit. You know you should stop watching (or reading) right now but you just wait for it to get better.

The worst is when my dog and I make eye contact while he is slowly scuttling across the back yard growing new tails that he leaves in his wake.

He's a good dog and I am a disgusting voyeur. We both live though.

Kirk Kerkorian is an 89 year old man who still has dreams. One of his drams was squashed in 1995 when he offered 22.8 billion dollars for Chrysler.

That's $22,800,000,000 if you want it spelled out for you.

Old Kirk kept on dreaming and now today, he offered 4.5 billion in cash for Chrysler. I always thought inflation workede the other way. Is it a good sign for our auto industry if what was worth $22,800,000,000 in 1995 is now worth $4,500,000,000 in 2007?

You know with all of those zeroes, it's all funny oney to me. And I say good for you Kirk, you worked hard, bought a small island (probably a couple), saved your pennies and now all of your dreams have come true.

From dreams to nightmares and the strength each take. The Amish community has been an amazing symbol of forgiveness. Their communty was shattered when an outsider held a school house hostage. Blood was shed and lives were lost.

Anger was missing though. The children of the criminal in the tragedy were also left without a father and the Amish have not turned their back on that family. They have helped the family of the man who hurt them so badly. They have risen above the hate to move forward together with all of those suffering from this senseless act of violence.

I love my life with all of the enhancements I own and rent and pay mortgage on and son and so forth. All of the noise I have invited into my life as a modern male in the 21st century I enjoy. I think about the life of an Amish male and wonder of that simplicity is something I should miss in my life.

The life of an Amish male is not simple as he is the shoulders of the community. I wonder who would have a harder time adjusting to the fish out of water syndrome: me as a high-tech guy working with his hands or the Amish male who suddenly has all of this time on his hands.

The Amish are also showing signs of great leadership for all of us. Forgiveness is the hardest thing to do sometimes and that is the reason out world seems so discouraging sometimes.

To jump up from discouragement to contentment, in an entry that started with a shit walking dog, I finished a great week of screenings for Jen X. The highlight was the Wednesday cast and crew party followed the next night with a showing at Bookman's.

The cast and crew was a ton of fun on Jen X and although I will always have their best on tape to see, I will miss the time we shared in putting it all together.

It was the last Open Mic Night at Bookman's and it was such a joy to show Jen X to a group of artists. Some sang, played the guitar and read poetry and they all dug Jen X.

After ten years of trying to make a movie, I was reminded this week as to why it was such a sweet dream for all of those years.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!