Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-03-13 - 12:12 a.m.

...I filled out two brackets this year. In my other Final 4, there was a lack of West Coast bias. I have Florida, Memphis, Georgetown and Kansas. I will probably get none right at all. If I do get any right, I am alreadu going to assume that they will be spread out over two brackets and I will curse myself for doing both fo them when I could have just failed at one.

What's nice about this Monday is that everyone's brackets are still good. Next Monday canot make the same claim as tghe nation pieces together their busted brackets from all of the upsets, buzzer beaters and Bobby Knight tantrums.

I have been busy this spring training so I have yet to make a Cactus League game. It is hard to watch baseball anymore. Bary bonds has, allegedly, been cheating for, allegedly, a few years. He is primed to break a real record and he gets paid millions of real dollars and yet he is everything that we tell our kids not to be.

It's hard to watch any of the current athletes misbehave then buy their way out of it anymore. We're paying teachers in a year what some athletes make in a game.

It's also tough because the NFL players receiving a pension are thousands of dollars below what the other sport pension plans are. It is scary because football is so violent and these men have to watch their bodies break down and some are not insured for risk of their former job.

What a strange time to be alive. I would be more scared if I wasn't so blessed.

You know, that really could be the other way around and it wouldn't even matter is what it feels like too often now.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!